moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

Can’t we all just get along?

Leave a comment

I’ve noticed a trend recently.  It isn’t the leggings-as-pants, using-colored-pastels-in-your-hair, each-finger-nail-painted-a-different-color trend.  But trust me, you can’t pull this one off, either.  It’s incredible rudeness.

In the past week, I have noticed cars rolling through intersections with pedestrians still in the crosswalk, people pulling U-turns in the middle of the street because they were too lazy to go around the block, and people making a left-hand turn from the right-hand lane.  Then there’s the speed up to get around someone and then slow to a snail’s pace phenomenon that’s been happening.  There is nothing so important that you need to put others in danger because you’re too lazy, stupid, or inconsiderate to wait at a stop sign.

It’s astounding how bubble-like we’ve become.  I’m not saying that I’m the next Mother Teresa and I have no faults, I’m just saying, can’t we all have a little more consideration for our actions?  Think about how you’re really just inconveniencing everyone behind you and looking like a schmuck making that left turn from the right lane.  Granted, if I want to change directions and no one is behind me, I’ll wait until everyone passes and then get in the other lane to turn.  But if someone is behind me, I’ll suck it up, find the next strip mall, and turn around in the parking lot.

It isn’t hard to think about other people but it’s way too easy to think about only ourselves.  Sure, we’re allowed to be selfish once in a while, but just make sure it isn’t “once in a while out of every day.”

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers