moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

My Name is Angelica…and I’m a Nail Polish-aholic

Leave a comment

So, in the off chance that any guys are reading this (ooh, look, Ange made a joke…) I apologize for one night.  Because I’m going to talk about nail polish now.  Ready, go.

I was on the hunt for a bottle of OPI’s black shatter polish the second I heard about it.  Yes, I toyed with paying $20 for a bottle of the stuff.  Then, thanks to the amazing eyesight of a girl at work, I procured my first bottle..for $10.  A vast improvement over the arm-and-a-leg that some people online wanted for it.  Then the silver shatter came out.  I got a call from said work-chick while I was at school.  Studying for finals, might I add.  Like a true -aholic, this obsession was more important than the 30+ page paper that I was working on.  Long story short, I paid another $10 for the silver.

But I digress.  Today, I went black (shatter, that is).  Here is the combo I came up with.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Essie’s Steel-ing the Scene on every nail but the ring fingers; those are Essie’s Baby Cakes (which didn’t turn out so different with the shatter coat on top).  Topped with a coat of shatter and then clear top coat (not pictured).  Pardon the sloppy application.  The shatter doesn’t really merit being super-neat with the bottom color coat.  Or the shatter coat for that matter…  Now, I love the shatter, but it does get a little…craptastically chunky after a while.  (That’s slightly evident in the pictures.)  And the silver looks like a glitter factory threw up on your nails.  So sexy.  But I do like it.  And it’s good as an accent nail.  Look for the silver edition next week.

I’m waiting for a coupon from Ulta to get the color shatters.  I love it, but $10 is a liiiiitle much to pay for the colors.  Sorry, OPI.

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

