moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

How not to behave in public

Leave a comment

For argument’s sake, let’s say I’m like Andy Sachs in “The Devil Wears Prada,” except I’m not an assistant to just one person, it’s more like I’m the punching bag for an entire region of people who enjoy throwing their weight around and have a penchant for hot stone massages.  While I was at work today, I was thinking of the way people think it’s okay to treat those whom they deem as “lower” than them.  Well it’s not okay.  And here’s a partial list of how not to behave in public (all based on actual events…amazingly enough).

~Don’t bring your children in and expect the receptionist to babysit while you’re getting pampered (I really hate that word, but there’s no other one that fits quite as well).

~Don’t order the receptionist to call a car service, taxi, dealership, mechanic, your husband, etc, to come pick you up.  You have a cell phone, fingers, and a tongue.  I know because I heard you yapping away for the past 2 hours while you were getting your nails done.

~Don’t take your road rage out on the person who answers the phone.  No, we didn’t alert you to the construction because a) we’re not your personal news source, b) it’s Pennsylvania in the summer, of course there’s construction, and c) our crystal ball was in the shop when you scheduled 5 months ago so we couldn’t alert you that there would be a freak landslide.

~Don’t toss your clothes around the changing room and expect someone else to hang them neatly on the hangers inside the garment bag provided.  Similarly, we pointed out the laundry basket for a reason.  When you’re done with your dirty robe, that’s where it should go.  We aren’t your mother or your wife.

~Men, put the seat down.  Also, there is a bottle of air freshener for a reason; have some respect.

And here’s my favorite incident from today…when you say, “I have a list of suggestions,” please ensure that they are in fact suggestions and not a list of complaints masked as “I want to help you improve your business.”  For example: “The lights were too bright,” is not a suggestion.  It is a declarative statement.  A suggestion would sound more like, “Maybe you could lower the lighting in the room; it would be more relaxing.”

That being said, there are some extremely grateful people who are so appreciative when we go the extra mile for them.  I live for customers like that.  I know, we’re all human and have bad days, but please try not to abuse those whose job it is to make sure you enjoy your experience at our facility.  We would like to enjoy ourselves too.  Or, at the very least, not hunt you down and make you walk a mile in our shoes.  And yes, I wear heels to work.

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

