moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

Stop giving me the up-down

Leave a comment

Something I’ve noticed this year, aside from the massive take-off of foursquare on campus, is that girls have become even more hyper-critical of each other than usual.  There are always girls that walk around campus in platform heels–I mean, really, you’re going to chem lab, do you need to be wearing a ball gown?–and the girls that do a full face of makeup and perfectly curl their hair and then wear sweats to class.  But that’s standard, you see those girls every year.  This year, it’s like the fashion police on steroids.  Every time you pass someone on the sidewalk, they give you the up-down.  And then a look that says, “Ew, are you really wearing that?”

Case in point: I went to brunch with a friend this past Sunday.  I was walking back to our table with round two and a girl who didn’t know me from Adam looked at my tray and then looked at me like “Sweetie, are you really eating all that?  Are you sure you really need that?”  I wanted to be like, “It’s Sunday morning, I need hangover food, sorry I’m not satisfied with coffee and a grape.”

I know it isn’t just me being sensitive because I’ve talked to a handful of people that mentioned the same thing.

So, to all you bitches silently-yet-not-subtly eying up and judging everyone’s outfits (and meal choices) I say this: kindly BACK OFF.

 

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

