moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

Fortune cookie school of psychology

Leave a comment

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to fortune cookie fortunes recently (don’t ask why, I couldn’t tell ya.)  I have three paper clipped in the front of my planner from Lord knows when and are so tattered that I can barely read them anymore:

  • You are a practical person with your feet on the ground.
  • Struggle as hard as you can for whatever you believe in.
  • You have at your command the wisdom of the ages.

The first describes me to a T, thus I needed to keep it because it was just so appropriate that it was my fortune.  The second is just plain good advice and doesn’t need much thought to appreciate it.

The third came from a dinner at Green Bowl, a local stir fry restaurant, when I was having dinner with my mom when she visited me one weekend two years ago.  I thought it was funny at the time, as I’m always poking fun at my mom for her age (because I am a caring daughter like that.)  I mainly kept it to remind me of that weekend.  But it has a nice message.  There are always people who have been in our positions before and we can turn to them when we need guidance and insight, even if it is an old Katharine Hepburn movie or a Sex and the City episode.  You are not alone.

I would like to add these to the lexicon:

  • Don’t look like a moron when you go outside; invest in a mirror and use it.
  • Read a book.
  • People appreciate those who have common decency and a firm grasp of social norms.
  • Your ex can and will pop up when you least expect it; beat them to the punch and always expect it.
  • You gotta fight for your right to party.

Okay, so I stole that last one.  It isn’t as bad as the one that my (female) friend got that said, “You and your wife will be very happy together.”  We were having dinner with my father when that fortune came up.

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

