moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

The problem with the world

Leave a comment

Here it is, folks.  Instead of working on stuff for my advertising class (group meeting in T-minus 3.5 hours and….yeah…moving on), I have figured out the problem with the world.  I haven’t figured out the meaning of life, though.  Give me a few more minutes.

The problem with the world is that we, as a culture/nation/what have you, glorify people who do not deserve it.  I mean, Snookie has a book.  An actual book with her name on the cover.  Apparently, she knows how to write.  Coulda fooled me.

As well, I follow @SororityProblem (Sorority Girl Problems) on twitter.  This mystery author released a “book” available only in electronic form.  From what I can gather, it’s filled with entirely unrealistic stories about college.  It begins with  a short trip down memory lane, her calling her life “tequila-soaked” and continues to say that she was suspended for three days in high school for showing up with a traveling mug of white wine.  Did I mention she’s 18?  Ahh, memories….?!

I am not, nor have I ever been, in a sorority.  But it’s things like this “book” that give girls A) unrealistic expectations about college and B) make them think that if they aren’t drinking and dressing like a hot mess and doing Lord knows what else, that they will not be accepted by their peers.  Granted, this is a generalization, but I have a feeling that a lot of impressionable high school girls think that this actually happens in college.  I mean, the cover has spilled wine and crushed pills on it.  What kind of  message is this sending!? You don’t need to “buy” friends, binge drink, or turn yourself into a slut to make guys like you or to make girls want to hang out with you.

Anyway, the fact that trash  like this gets published is what is wrong with the world.  We are glorifying the wrong people.  Does anyone read Jane Austen anymore?

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

