moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

What’s on my desk

Leave a comment

I was on AdAge.com over the weekend (because I’m a nerd like that) and I came across this article featuring a high-ranking ad exec and the stuff in his office.  Apparently, clutter can be good and healthy and essential to the creative process.  I feel like I’ve been working towards being a creative at an agency seeing as how I always have stuff around my desk.  Of course, I had to forward the link to my dad, who wrote me an email breaking down what was on his desk and why, along with pictures.

Here’s my take on the situation:

Full View of the Work Space

Full view of my work space.  Caption is fairly self explanatory….

Right-hand Side

On the right-hand side of my desk, I have a storage thingy (because I freaking love storage thingies) with all of my Post-Its, pens and other office supplies.  On top, I have more Post-Its, duh, Sharpie pens, duh, and my Pittsburgh Penguins bear, duh.  Yes, my mouse pad is an oriental rug.  Yes, that “Girls Rule” sign is awesome.  Any questions?

Detailed Right-hand Side

Purell.  Pen container.  “A.”  Nail polish.  Normal stuff on a desk, no?

Left-hand Side

Laptop.  Dry erase board within reach for jotting down ideas (and songs I want to buy).  Water cup (I drink basically an entire Brita pitcher of water a day).  M&M screen cleaner.

Books

Massive pile of texts for class.  Storage thingy.  Post-It calendar, which used to hang on the wall but it decided to be a little brat and fall down all the time.  Yes, it is balanced on my collection of Sex and the City DVDs and books.

Not pictured is my desk drawer.  It has more office supply crap in it.  Well, there you have it.  Now I should go return my dad’s email and refer him to this post.

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

