moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

Fight for your right

Leave a comment

With officially less than two months (barely) until graduation, everyone keeps telling me to live it up.  And all I can do is roll my eyes.  I know, I should be getting wasted every night and spending too much money and staying up too late and sleeping all day because at no other point in my life will I have independence but very few responsibilities.  But I don’t think I’m made for that.  I’ve known plenty of people (most of them who ended up having to delay graduation instead of graduating early) who have that mindset.  And it baffles me.

There was a girl in line behind me today getting coffee who asked her friend if she was going to a certain class that day.  Um, really?  I don’t know about all of y’all, but I’m paying money to be here, I want to get the full value from it.  Even though I’m not getting paid, it is almost my job to go to class.  It’s more like my responsibility to be there, especially if I don’t have to be.  That is what builds character and work ethic, at least in my opinion.  I guess other people like tossing thousands of dollars (literally) down the drain because they don’t feel like going to class.  I just don’t get how anyone can blow off something they’re supposed to do.

I know the best way to do it is to balance the two..but I’m not good at that.  I’m an extremist.  I do one thing really, really obsessively well at a time.  And at this time in my life, I picked “school” and I threw myself into it.  I didn’t pick “enjoy myself,” although I am working on it, when I have the time; I didn’t pick “go to class when you feel like it,” because I just don’t see how people can half-ass their future like that.

That just isn’t me.  I’m going to live it up when I am good and ready to, not because people are telling me to.

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

