moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

May I help you?

Leave a comment

I usually try not to complain excessively about my job, because it’s a job.  And I kinda like it and would truly hate it if my ramblings caused me to be terminated a la Starbucks Guy.  That being said….

  • Please don’t jump down my throat because I asked what your name is.  We need to include a name with every transaction; I’m not being nebby, I’m just doing my job.  Also, I thank everyone when they purchase something, so please do not question why I am thanking you.  It is common courtesy, sir.  I could have said, “Thanks for giving us money,” instead of “I’m glad you came in today.”  Which would you prefer, hmm?
  • Please, listen to the people explaining stuff to you.  I said very clearly, “Please put your clothes in the provided garment bag.” Do not just leave them laying around the changing room like you are the only person who has access to said room.  Especially if you choose to disrobe entirely.  Because then I need to put everything (yes, everything) into your garment bag.  Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t relish bagging someone else’s “unmentionables.”
  • In that same vein, I pointed across the hall and said, “Have a seat across the hall when you’re ready.”  Kindly look and listen to where I am guiding you.  That way you aren’t wandering around, asking people where to sit.

To play devil’s advocate with myself, perhaps I am not making myself clear.  Or I am speaking too quickly for certain people to process the information that’s presented to them.  But the other 9 out of 10 people caught my drift.  Seeing as how there is a majority, I’m thinking I’m making myself understood after all.

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

