moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

Where do we go from here?

Leave a comment

Jenna Marbles said it best: I hate being a grown-up.  I’m learning to like it, especially with the prospect of having my own apartment (not dorm, not parent’s house).  But there’s one thing that still is rather un-fantastic.  People decide to leave.

Think about it.  When you’re a kid and your friends move away, it isn’t because they wanted to (most of the time), it’s because an adult said it had to happen.  So you try to stay friends and go on summer vacations with each other’s family and eventually you lose touch and maybe write a “happy birthday” on Facebook and that’s about it.  Eventually, you get new friends because people are always moving in and out of your school district.

But then, when your friends become adults and decide to move on, it’s their own decision and there’s nothing stopping them.  So you hope that they want to stay close and hear about what’s going on in your life and you want to hear about theirs.  And you hope that they’ll visit you and vice versa, but there’s always that uncertainty.

The real problem with being an adult is that there isn’t always a constant stream of new friends.  You’re out of school and at work instead.  New people come and go, but they may not be as open to letting new people in as they were in grade school.  And you may not, either.

So..what happens now?  Where do we go from here?

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

