moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

#yolo? gtfo.

3 Comments

Let me state, for the record, that I’m not usually a fan of internet “memes” or sayings.  They come as fast as they go (“Sorry I’m not sorry” anyone?) and are usually some half-ass excuse for lazy/potentially illegal behavior.  As far as half-baked acronyms go, this one is pretty bad.  “You Only Live Once?”  More like “You’re Only Looking Obnoxious.”  I seem to be on the same page as most of the Onward State team.

People are always going to find a way to validate the poor decisions they make be it “whatever,” “I do what I want,” […] or anything else. There’s always going to be some catchy phrase to blow off their responsibility. Generally the phrases are at least accepted (if not embraced) by the generation that coins them– why is YOLO an exception?

Will people continue to do stupid stuff and try to justify it with a generationally-recognized “motto”?  Yes.  Will something replace it in a week?  Yes.  Will that make it less annoying?  No.  But that’s a good question.  Why is this “YOLO” business any different than #sorrynotsorry or the like?  It isn’t. The same responsibility-shirking individuals will continue to proliferate this behavior during day-longs and Greek Week events and/or justify their actions at said events.

So why are you trying to validate your behavior?  Can’t you just do it?  It seems as if you’re only trying to justify your activities to yourself.

Sorry I’m not sorry, just sayin’.

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

3 thoughts on “#yolo? gtfo.

  1. I totally agree here. It is just a way for people to justify the laziness or even the stupid things that they seem to do. My friend likes to drink and chew and smoke all the time, and yea I worry a little haha. But the only reply I get is YOLO!! Well, I mean yea, you only live once. But the question is, how long do you want to live in a healthy state?

    • Thanks for the input! It seems silly to try to justify potentially harmful behavior with a line from a rap song. I still want to know why it needs justified to begin with. Can’t people just say “This is my choice and I’m okay with it” rather than convincing others (and themselves in the process) that what they are doing is okay because they are young, only live once, etc..?

      • No problem! I don’t know…the way people reason these days, I’ll never understand it. Maybe it’s because in the back of their mind they know that what they’re doing is stupid/wrong but they feel that through a saying i.e. YOLO that it makes it ok and acceptable. I just don’t know!

Leave a Reply

