moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

R-E-S-P-E-C-T

1 Comment

Lately it seems that there is an epidemic sweeping the nation.  It’s a terrible disease.  It affects the brain, specifically, the part of the brain that registers common decency.  Symptoms include: lack of tact, lack of caring about fellow human beings, and saying uncouth things in public.  I don’t want to see this disease claim another victim, so I’m taking a stand.  From this day forward, I will champion the cause.  Bring back respect!

It just seems like people are fending for themselves* more often than not, blatantly throwing consideration for others to the wind.  It appears to prevail greatest amongst my generation.  The biggest pet peeve about this disease that I have is lack of respect for others’ time.  While I occasionally will have a relapse, I typically like to tell people that I will be at X place at Y hour.  Others don’t feel the need to return the favor.  I end up waiting for people and when I finally hear from them as per what they plan on doing, they throw in an “Oh, by the way, will you also do this other favor for me, even though I didn’t tell you about it beforehand and you may have other things to do today that don’t include me and you’re already doing me a big favor to begin with.”

*Being self-centered

Another way this disease rears its ugly head is by not caring about other people’s feelings.  You can tell you’re affected if you say things like, “I don’t have to pitch in, I’m better than this.”  Wrong!  For example, at work we are all expected to pitch in and ensure that certain things are kept up with during the day.  I’m sure your company expects this as well.  Is it fair for a few people to always make sure that these things are taken care of?  It is not.

There are ways we can reverse the disease though!  If you feel yourself slipping back and saying, “I don’t care about anyone else,” or, “It’s not my problem,” or, “This isn’t my responsibility,” take a second and think if you can help to make someone’s day easier in any way.  I say, have some respect and pitch in!  Pick something up off the floor instead of walking by it (even if you didn’t drop it in the first place), offer to carry a box instead of watching someone else struggle (even if you didn’t order 50 cases of toner), hold open the door for a mother loaded down with kids (even if you don’t like children and believe it was her fault for having so many).

If we work together, maybe we can put an end to this epidemic.  With just 5 minutes a day, you can help a starving child in Africa–oops, wrong PSA.  But really, the lack of respect that some people have for their fellow human beings makes me sad.  No one deserves to be treated like dirt.  No one deserves to play second-fiddle.  A little compassion goes a long way.  That’s all I’m asking for; 5 minutes of your time to think about someone other than yourself.

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

One thought on “R-E-S-P-E-C-T

  1. If only people would have that mindset, right? But in the end, you’ve just got to be that change you expect to see in the world…that sounds strangely like a quote from somewhere by the way :/

    Keep on being awesome 😛

Leave a Reply

