moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

Manager of Lightbulb Moments

Leave a comment

One day, I want that to be my job title.  Manager of Lightbulb Moments.  There could be worse things to call myself and aspire to.  According Rupal Parkeh in his Ad Age article, “Confirmed: Marketing, Digital Advertising Boasts Weirdest Job Titles,” there are many people in the digital arena calling themselves “Marketing Rockstars,” “Dream Alchemists,” and “Digital Overlords.”  Granted, that does sound a lot better than “Account Executive” and “Website Manager.”

In a world where there is already so much competition and similarities among resumes, we do need something to make ours stand out from the pack.  If a fabricated, “Fancier Than Thou” title is what does it, then so be it.  But that just means it’s going to be the next thing that we need to one-up everyone else with.  Just recently, I was turned down for an internship in lieu of another candidate who went to the same school as I did, took the same classes, graduated at the same time, and lives in the same city, yet probably was savvy enough to amp up her resume with snappy titles.  I can see future employers everywhere thinking, “Forget relevant skills and job experience, that person calls himself a Conversation Architect, not to be confused with a plain old Digital Marketing Manager.  Clearly he’s the better candidate for the position.”  Kudos to them, though.  Clearly, they figured out the rules to the game and adjusted quicker than me.  It’s a Darwinist world and we’re just trying to work in it.

As for me, I’m going to revamp my resume with fancy names for the positions held.  And here I thought adding “coordinator” to my receptionist job was classing it up.  Instead of “Note Taker, I’m going to call myself a “Conversation Converter.”  “Intern” will now be “Caffeine Purveyor,” not to be confused with “Barista.”

So now, instead of aspiring to be a simple copywriter, I will work for the day that I get to add “Manager of Lightbulb Moments” to the lineup.  It really does give it a little something extra, don’tcha think?

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

Leave a Reply

