moda vivendi

I'm just talking to myself. We do that sometimes, me and myself.

Where is the love

2 Comments

Today I powered up Twitter to a see a feed full of tweets about Burger King’s twitter account being hacked.  A picture says a thousand words, so I’ll give you two:

McBurgerKing

McBurgerKing

McBurgerKing's Twitter Feed

McBurgerKing’s Twitter Feed

If you’re a high schooler, I’m sure you find this insanely hilarious.  I find it mildly entertaining simply because of the line “The Whopper Flopped.”  But that’s about where the humor ends.  Why is hacking accounts becoming so prevalent?  It’s like the new thing to do now that the secret about bath salts is out.  People hacking banks accounts, a business’s Twitter feed, even a knitting forum I have heard of has been compromised recently, resulting in stored information becoming vulnerable.

Is someone that bored they say, “I’m going to wreak havoc today”?  There are probably scores of people who are in really hot water from the compromised banking systems.  People at Burger King who are probably ready to jump off the building because of this PR nightmare that someone caused for giggles.  A knitter who’s identity got stolen from someone hacking a knitting forum?  Really?

Where is the desire to be a decent human being, to want to bring good into the world instead of breeding negatives?  I don’t understand how there are people out there working really hard to make a difference for the better yet someone is content to sit behind their computer and cause destruction like this.  Perhaps it is because my mind doesn’t function in a criminal way, but where do people get these ideas?  I understand that if someone is desperate enough, they’ll do anything to get what they want, be it money or a political message.  But where is the political message in the Burger King account.  I scrolled through some recent tweets and it just appears that someone is having a field day being ridiculous; I see no political content.  And it isn’t like there is a monetary amount to be gained from this directly in finding classified account information.  I just want to know: where is the love (and compassion)?

Although if this turns out to be a crazy marketing strategy for BK, great job; you succeeded in getting people to talk about your brand.  If not, get a job.

Author: Angelica Ross

Coffee addict, Post-It aficionado, Sharpie fanatic. I live and work in Pittsburgh, pin lots of recipes I'll never make, and I love the Oxford comma. Sometimes I write about advertising, other times I write about general life happenings; no matter what, I always try to entertain.

2 thoughts on “Where is the love

  1. I’m definitely against hacking a Twitter account or any account at all, but I must admit that it’s a bit funny. Anyway, aren’t all fast-food companies basically all the same?

    • Don’t get me wrong, it was funny that it happened, but what did it need to happen at all? Maybe if the content had some purpose or humor to it. Most of it was vulgar, though. But yes, all fast-food companies basically are the same; I see that statement in there! Haha

Leave a Reply

